TypeI: ProjectII: Printing Words and Analyzing

Then we were told to print each of the 10 words as big as you can get it, leaving 2-3 centimeters off the edges, in the middle of the page.

It was interesting how every single typeface had a different size limit to fit this size. It helped me learn that type faces are each differently taller/shorter, thinner/fatter, much more readily. Comparing them also helped us to see so much more than before.

Some observations include:

 

There was also a suggestion to look at whether we should use Tanseek T or M, and I found that the one on the left more true to the arabic caligraphy, and the right a more digitalized version, at least it felt this way:

fedra-sans_ab

This word was longer/taller, and reached the vertical limit, rather than the horizontal limit. I was surprised and confused, but it showed me the way arabic type is written can be vertically very long:

edges

I also struggled with centering the Arabic words, because of all the harakats that made it awkward, some also went off the page. Therefore, some centering was slightly off or weird. I got confused about what the center of an arabic word was altogether.

harakat

This was a type face I just wanted to point out that I fell in love with this arabic font, especially this ornate looking “la” I believe:

layer-0

When we spread it out in class and we began to talk about it, the conversations were very interesting.

typelaidouttype_spreadfromtop

We began to really see how letters relate to one another, especially how serif typefaces have issues between particularly the letter of t being next to t, or i. I learned that thinner letters had more issues with awkward touching than others – this is at least how I kind of thought about it.

I personally found it very interesting how Jameel was stacked on itself – how Arabic should be written. It made me see for the first time how different arabic should be seen, versus how we see it as type.

I felt that this collection of the prints was a cool layout of type, but also a very interesting way of looking and comparing type, really feeling and being able to see how type works on the page, how one typeface works compared to another one.

Then, we began to analyze the different types of type on ourselves. These are some of the analysis.’ I am mainly showing you the ones of dismal – because it is the word I chose.

Here are the dot comparisons in both Arabic and English. I found it interesting, because the dots are something we so readily see without observing the typeface, and yet, I’ve never really recognized that one is a diagonal shape and the other is circular.

arabicdotcomparisonidotoptions

There was something that bugged me about this typeface, being that the a and the m, when the leg met the shoulder of the m, or where the bowl met the tail of the a, I found that the lines were not straight, which was very interesting.

examiningtype

I was also observing, simply just how other letters had terminals, and finials, because for me, this was the most interesting part.

examiningfinials

Leave a Reply

