Imaging (5 Weeks Process)

Categories and sub categories of images

Layer 6Layer 0Layer 2 Layer 3 Layer 4

In the beginning, we were told to find images for each of the six main categories: photography, illustrations, pictograms, memes, patterns, type as image.

OohLogo

Then, we chose separate groups, and I went to pictograms. I began to learn that there are is an infinite variety of images that may probably be almost impossible to define and categorise each one. Especially because an image category can be developed along the way.


Poetic, persuasive pragmatic. Index, icon, symbol. Denotative. Connotative.

We learned about words that were relevant in our work. It made looking at images more interesting, and I began to appreciate them more, because an image considers so many different aspects to result in a good visual effect.

Layer 5Layer 1Them_ExcessivePicture3

We analysed some images in terms of their quality, content, and meaning. I began to realize images had far more meaning and needed more consideration than I had thought.


Visual research countries: self-developed limitations based on countries and interest.

First we did quick research to choose countries, and at first I chose the countries based mainly on architecture and landscapes.

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-11-05-30-am

Then, I moved on to research more details about each of the countries. I for some reason, focused mainly on finding representations in image form, rather than text form for everything, which you can see in a previous blog post: (Imaging: 3 Countries (Hungary, Namibia, Curaçao)).

backgroundvii

Out of the countries, I found that I was most curious about North Korea. It’s always been a country of interest, but I never really knew about it, so I took this as an opportunity.

 

One of the categories that I liked most was stereotypes, I always find people’s perspective and their assumptions interesting. So, I put these two together.

layer-1

On social media, there is this focus and interest on Kim Jong Un:

layer-0

Therefore, I began to develop ideas:

background

I ended up choosing the card game. I am currently developing a tarot card game, with just the “major arcana” part, as tarots are made of 78, of which 56 are made of sets.

My sketches first were closer to the actual cards, but then the plans changed.

backgroundvibackground

I began developing a character to use throughout, Kim Jong Un:

1. Face Development

backgroundivbackgroundii

2. Body Development:

backgroundibackgroundv

3. Full body development:

backgroundiii


Reflection and Moving Forward

I am going to start creating the actual cards. I have to finish the brainstorming for some cards, which is taking a lot longer than I thought. I have to continue developing the characters for each card, as well as add color.

 

In imaging generally, I think I learnt about the vast quantity of images and their usages. Which helped open me up to more options. Although somewhat flustering, I liked the freedom we were given to choose our own direction. It makes us consider more than being given a format, because we have to think about how the context of the image changes the feeling and message of the images.

Leave a Reply

