M&P: Project002: 5 Signs

Then we were told to go off and make 5 signs. In the beginning I was going to have a meltdown. But ideas slowly came to me.

I felt like in the end, my signs were less signs, than they were illustrations, but I felt that it would give us all a start. And it would be difficult for me to develop a symbolic sign without proper discussion, because I didn’t really know much yet about how to develop a sign that communicated well.


These were the ten I took to class:

smaller_2

So the topic was addiction:

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-29-29-pmscreen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-29-34-pm

This was a bit of research I did, to most accurately represent the cigarette and injection when I fused them with the phone.

smaller_6smaller_5

These portrayed how we were slaves to our phones:

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-29-39-pm screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-29-44-pm screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-29-50-pm screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-29-55-pm

smaller_4

 

My reference for the puppet

 

 

 

smaller_3

 

I changed the illustration style of the body, to be more rigid from this, so that it would be more domino style.

 

 

These portrayed how we should put the phone and place it far away:

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-30-03-pm screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-30-07-pm screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-30-11-pm

This was an idea based on a Korean saying that even if you were to eat (something so delicious) between two, you wouldn’t notice if one died. So it’s the idea that the phone is so distracting, we wouldn’t know that someone died:

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-9-29-59-pm


During the discussion of our location, audience, and action. I realized that my more simplistic signs were the ones that my peers decided were the best.

After some discussion they did get the general gist of the action, and therefore the audience. However, they did not get location. To be honest, I didn’t really expect them to, because nothing in them really showed this, and this didn’t affect me that much, because I didn’t think I could show where it should be either way.

The biggest shock was that ALL OF MY SIGNS WERE “THE SAME”. In the middle I almost had a confusion breakdown. I was more shocked because I remembered so clearly, what Law had said in the last lesson, about how we shouldn’t make the same sign, and I had made them thinking they weren’t the same. But I understood why they were the same afterwards.


The questions then was: How would you communicate without the phone in the picture? And therefore, what is it that I’m really trying to communicate?

At first, it felt like I was hit so hard in the head I was just numb, but then my classmates suggested some ideas, Ju even helped start off a new idea, a figure running out of a text box:

smaller_1

Then it began to get interesting again, because it makes you think in more ways than one. It helped clear up the message that I want to convey in the sign as well.


When I think about it, my signs weren’t clear at this point, people had to kind of guess, and when I talked about it they got it fully. I figured confusion wasn’t what signs were meant to create, so I was stressed on how to create an effective image.

Leave a Reply

