TypeI: ProjectII: PartII: Sentences on a page

Then we were told to play with orientation of sentences on a page of A3 and A4, with both Arabic and English:

  1. 10 pages for each naskh, kufi, sanserif, serif typeface – 5 A3, 5 A4
  2. Playing with Bold/Italic/Scale/Alignment/Color/Angles

I felt like I was repeating the same things:

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-11-25-15-am screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-11-25-09-am

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-11-26-36-am screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-11-27-00-am

So, sometimes, though I was very unsure, I tried some stranger things:

layer-0  smaller_5


smaller_1

We discovered so many things:

  1. Filling the whole page with text was bad
  2. Using too many bold, italics, etc. in one is bad
  3. Playing with contradictions/juxtaposition is important – don’t color the word red red
  4. Don’t play with tracking
  5. Order of reading is important – how languages read on a page
  6. Margins – We need to breathe
  7. Dead Center is boring
  8. Odd numbers > Even Numbers
  9. Tension and Contrast
  10. Create Callouts
  11. Visual Balance
  12. Corner to corner is boring
  13. Be Subtle
  14. Break up page

At this point, to be honest, I still didn’t really get what was going on. I felt confused. Type became a lot more difficult, and I already found it difficult. I didn’t not understand, but I knew I wouldn’t have fully understood the whole idea of what anything that was said, meant. I think I wasn’t as stressed  about not knowing, because of the last type class, and believed that the next class will reveal more, and even more in the next.


But, these are some things I began to understand somewhat, giving examples of my work:

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-8-25-41-pm screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-8-26-23-pm

 

Type shouldn’t be expanded across the whole page, not a poster, so treat it like how type is usually seen.

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-8-25-31-pm

 

We need to be cautious of the readability of texts, into whether the order is clear.

 

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-8-25-56-pm

 

Type is not interesting when centered, or corner to corner. 

 

screen-shot-2016-11-05-at-8-26-11-pm

 

This is more interesting, because it is more thought out. And it was, because I this meant I played around with the sentence long enough to find that the lengths of the words were similar.

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-11-27-06-am

 

Baseline needs often to be lower, because of optical reasons – type is heavier on the bottom, so just because the layout clicks to the center on the computer, doesn’t mean it’ll look that way.


It was interesting because as soon as the professor said activate the page, we all felt the need to use many colors, tracking, different type families, all in one. I didn’t do so much this, because I reminded myself LESS IS MORE. But, I did do a whole lot of scaling it to the entire page. I began to understand better that less is more.

Leave a Reply

