TypeI: ProjectII: PartII: Final Editing

For the A4, I chose to bring this to class, I just edited the gradients a bit, so that I had 30%, 50%, and 70%, rather than 25%, 50%, 75%, because I thought that might help with the way the gradient appeared to drop vastly, and almost have no gradient change, until the last line:

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-11-37-10-am

As for the A3, I tried several options.

I tightened and resized this, as well as changed the font, to create what I felt was a better composition:

screen-shot-2016-11-06-at-10-22-26-pmsmaller_2–>size_smaller

I’m not sure if this was better before or after, but either way I felt it was awkward:

smaller_6–>smaller_4

This I felt didn’t work out either times, because it wasn’t interesting, nor didn’t look thoughtout, though it was aligned and everything.

smaller_5–>size_smaller_1

At this point, I really felt like type was full of uncertainty, some things felt like it worked out and others didn’t feel like they did. I could assume and suggest reasons why, but I experienced that sometimes it was hard to be very definite.


This was a short discussion, on how the text should be aligned with the end of the last word, rather than making this awkward pyramid shape.

smaller_1


These are the ones I brought in for this layout, I personally thought it worked best too, which is why I played with the color most on it:

smaller_3

I was suggested to use the spacing on the left and the placement and colors on the right:

smaller_2

  • I had made it grey, because I was trying to create visual balance to the three sections. (I also felt the grey color represented subtly what the specific line said (into the black hole – So it was as if it was dissappearing)
  • The reason I chose to scale the last bit of the sentence, is because I felt it was most interesting, and therefore, I wanted to create emphasis on it.
  • I chose black as the background, because of the idea of the black hole, and also because of the high contrast between black and white. I found less reason to use any other color than black.
  • I created three parts, taking the idea of mondrian, and the idea of sectioned shapes – or in my case bits of text, to split the page.
  • It was also to create a kind of jump in the eye of the viewer, to make the eye move, as it is about travelling.
  • I also realized after I created it, but the space between the smaller white text is creating somewhat of a hole, and it’s about the tractor falling into a black hole, so I found it a nice visual connection.

This is me editing the more tightly spaced text onto the bottom of the page.

screen-shot-2016-11-07-at-10-46-18-am

The Margin on the left and bottom was equivalent. Also, I took the spacing that I created between the two baselines, to make it the right margin.

Furthermore, the font was chosen based on the size of the font. Because, I had the intention of creating a connection in sizes of the three components, I had to experiment to see different fonts. Therefore, I made the smaller font 20, and made the larger one 60, but because it wasn’t exact, I changed the 60 to 62, so that it would align from the end of the right small part, and the end of the second small part.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-8-36-06-pm–>screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-8-35-53-pm

When Law and Leland saw the comparison of the white and grey, they agreed on the white. I think that the white was good in the way that it didn’t drown in the black. I felt it was more visually interesting to better move the eye around 3 different areas of text.

I also felt that the tighter leading or spacing between the smaller text and the bigger text, for some reason, felt better, I felt the tighter fit felt more like it was hugging and really fitting into each other like puzzles. It made the text read better on the page, I felt.

Leave a Reply

