TypeI: ProjectIV: Paragraph Formatting Editing

My explorations:

This is me playing with rags, this is pretty much all I did in the beginning for about an hour or two:

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-9-44-40-am

I tried the one up, one down, rag, because the natural rag was very similar to this, so I made it more intentional, which was interesting, because it made the rag look very rigid and strict, even more so that the justified, I felt:

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-10-16-01-am

These were some type fonts that were too dark, in terms of grey. This was one thing I really tried to play with in achieving the grey area. I also began to realize why all texts I read had quite a lot of leading. I think more than the sentences, I began to appreciate type more here, because I felt paragraphs are things that really need to be easy and accessible for the reader. Therefore, I started to enjoy it a bit more.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-10-15-27-am

This was one I tried to play with the next sentence, because the writer had this rhythmic “You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it.” So I tried to reflect it in the type, not sure if it really worked, but I enjoyed looking at the content and figuring out patterns I could use to emphasize certain messages of the paragraph.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-10-15-20-am

This is the way I played around with these three parts on a page. At this point I was playing with composition and I separated it into three bits, because of the rule of odd numbers. I kept playing with these, because I felt like something could come of it, so I tried about 10 different versions.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-10-15-35-am screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-10-15-39-am


After the critique…

I understood after the critique that my understanding of rags was somewhat incorrect. I played with tracking, in order to somewhat equalize, but make sure each rag was somewhat different, which wasn’t wasn’t what we were meant to do…:

screen-shot-2016-11-18-at-12-53-47-am screen-shot-2016-11-18-at-12-57-51-amscreen-shot-2016-11-18-at-12-59-01-am

This was something we talked about, in terms of exceptions to the line length. It was interesting how the intention, as well as it’s placement plays a role to act as an exception:

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-10-35-34-am

During class, I discovered that this was a redundancy of message, and I don’t know why, but I didn’t realize it until we discussed it in class.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-10-15-50-am


At first I asked Leland, for some advice. I first chose some and brought it up to Leland to ask about which of the two or three were working and why. Then, I thought about the things he said, and tried to think about composition more carefully.

For one reason or other, I was feeling like I was understanding the process and surprisingly liking what I was doing. Paragraphs looked pretty. It was nice that there were these crisp lines for the margins and then the more organic forms for the rags. I began to enjoy the shapes of paragraphs. It was weird.

Leave a Reply

